So Much To Be Thankful For…

11/09/2010 at 9:59 pm 9 comments

Thanksgiving is around the corner but I can’t wait to start counting my blessings so I’m beginning now. Won’t you join me?

The summer camping season was simply amazing. We had far more guests than normal, and I was able to visit with so many of them. Surprisingly, many are return guests. For a very rural overnight park, this park has loads of repeat traffic. Some folks find their way this direction every year, or every month or twice a year … and once they find us they seem to prefer to come back to us. For all of my guests, I’m so very thankful.

I had “above and beyond” help from Neighbor Mike, Farmer David and my friend Ruth as I’ve had in the past (they just add so much to this place!) but we also had my friend Emily on board and she was fantastic. Truly. As an owner I know the amount of trust that’s involved before I can say someone is “fantastic” and Emily was “totally fantastic!” For these great friends, I’m so thankful.

This Fall the blessings haven’t stopped. Nope. Not at all. God has been pouring more and more joy into this place. It’s fair to say that this Fall has been the icing on the cake. (Oh, bear with me. I hope I can explain myself clearly enough, and do so without taking up too much of your time!)

I was asked to teach some classes to other campground owners; some in Virginia and others in Oregon. The trips were incredibly fun, personally rewarding, marvelously delicious (oh so savory), and I believe I left my mark with many campground owners (oh I hope so!).

BUT …

With travel days & scheduled times, I was gone for two weeks. I hadn’t left my park in the hands of my friends for such an extended time, but I did it this time … and they did a marvelous job! And the guests left me really nice notes. How wonderfully refreshing & rewarding for me; I truly wasn’t expecting such nice comments from so many!

BUT ..

While I was away I found some bugs … germs. That goes with travel and conferences. Last year’s conference scheduled blessed me with fantastic health as I drove to these types of events, but this October I was on 7 planes and illness was bound to happen.

Upon my return home I barely had time to get my bearings when  my voice vanished, my lungs grew heavy, and my ears & nose stuffed up … and finally I encountered an intense return of a long-settled case of asthma.

Running an RV park alone comes with many challenges and this is one. What to do when you feel like calling in sick?

I live my life honestly. So … I posted a cute sign explaining why the office is closed, and I gave special rates for self-registration; cash or check only.

Then I set out lots of packages with lots of helpful information so everyone could function fairly well without me (if all else fails, they can ring the doorbell).

In the mornings when this overnight park is empty again, I slip down in solitude and clean the restrooms & laundry room, tend to the self-registration drop box, and do a little admin (the bare-bones basics of keeping up with necessities … because … as you know … bills still need to be paid and marketing deadlines still need to be met even with the owner is sick).

BUT …

God has a strange sense of humor.

Essentially 9 days ago, on the first day I opened the office upon my return home, with my voice growing weak .. but with my signs created in case I had to close the office (my wishful thinking had me believing I was just weary and would be fine the next day) … that’s when 10 RVs chose my park for their home-away-from-home while on a long assignment in NW Kansas.

What? Did God really expect me, alone, to keep up with such occupancy? Although I had other dreams for my slow season, I’m also very faith-oriented and very business-oriented and didn’t want my personal issues to get in the way. But really … 10 … with just me here to deal with it all … plus my regular fewer-yet-still-worthy overnight traffic … after this exhausting summer (yes, exhilarating but also physically and mentally exhausting)? Oh, and hey … did I even have the RV spaces to give up for these people and still accommodate my regulars? Well ….

Let me tell you. God BLESSED me with these 10. These are the nicest, most courteous, most thoughtful, cleanest and warmest people to ever camp here! What a total joy for me to tend to the facilities for them. For them … this specific group … I am soooo thankful.

BUT …

Today I was returning from a doctor’s appointment when I learned that God had truly blessed me even more … again. I witnessed one of my long-stays helping an overnighter figure out what to do. I overheard her explaining, with the kindest voice, with comfort and reassurance, that the park is open for overnighters even though the owner is really sick. Then I learned that she’s been doing this all along. All 9 days!!

Oh my gosh … I grinned from ear to ear! In my strongest voice (which really is just a loud whisper), I  shouted “I LOVE YOU … THANK YOU!!!”

Then I gave her my medical update and reassured her that I’d be back in the office in a few days, but that I was on my way back to the couch with my medicines.

So as I recline, properly medicated and well on the road to recovery, I can finally rest assured that the park is truly in good care. God is running things here … all things. I am so blessed … I can’t even begin to count as high as  needed to count all the ways!

Entry filed under: Running an RV Park, RVing & Camping at High Plains Camping. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Buffalo Bill Expert Friesen Coming to Oakley How Are We Found?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HighPlainsCamping  |  11/09/2010 at 10:33 pm

    To all of you who read that I was sick and passed along a quick prayer, thank you! I am making great progress. I actually expect to re-open the store and office later this week. (OK, does anyone hear God laughing now that I made that statement?)

    Reply
  • 2. HighPlainsCamping  |  11/09/2010 at 10:39 pm

    My voice will return when the virus has run its course. Seems this virus is running around America, silencing many good voices along the way. Oh well. Silence is golden, eh?

    My lungs are already much better now that we’re getting the asthma under control again, and my ears & sinuses will feel better when the new antibiotic works its magic.

    Reply
  • 3. Janet C. Fish  |  11/09/2010 at 10:51 pm

    Don’t talk much at all. I made the mistake of talking a lot, and now I”m well, but my voice still goes out. It’s better, but I think I hurt my vocal cords by talking while sick and hoarse. Try to be as quiet as possible so indeed your voice will come back when the virus is gone.

    Janet

    Reply
    • 4. HighPlainsCamping  |  11/10/2010 at 12:20 am

      I’ll TRY but now & then I just have to use my voice … LOL … it’s hard to tend to the phone without using it!

      Reply
  • 5. Johnita  |  11/09/2010 at 11:21 pm

    That is the most wonderful news. Have to admit I had to wipe away a couple tears. God has blessed us all this year. Glad he’s running the show.

    Reply
  • 7. Emily  |  11/10/2010 at 12:57 am

    Am sending you lots of “get well” and positive thoughts and prayers from California.
    Emily

    Reply
  • 8. Pamela Wright  |  11/10/2010 at 3:31 pm

    I wondered why I hadn’t heard from you on Twitter. (I’m @rvstops). Glad to hear things are improving.

    Just remember, every once in a while you need to take a step back to work ON your business rather than IN your business.

    PS. Congrats on a great year and sounds like it’s going to be a great shoulder season.

    Reply
    • 9. HighPlainsCamping  |  11/20/2010 at 11:23 am

      Thanks, Pamela. Every now & then I have to pull out the old photos to see how the park used to look. That’s when I really realize how far we’ve come … and why I’m weary!!! LOL

      I’m happy to see you on the blog site!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

High Plains Camping Twitters

  • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 2 years ago
  • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 2 years ago
  • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
  • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
  • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
  • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
  • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

Our Photos on Flickr


