Vacation Collectibles and Souvenirs

12/20/2009 at 1:37 pm 5 comments

A fun challenge I face every Spring is restocking the gift shop at High Plains Camping  It’s interesting to study all the options and evaluate what my guests might enjoy. It can also be baffling, so I’m reaching out to you.

Please post a response telling me what you prefer to buy when you travel. Some people buy a t-shirt from every state along their journey, while others select a postcard. Some people study many options to pick just one special item.

I’m really interested to see your list of souvenirs you have collected along the way. Here are a few of my favorites from my trips:

  • T-shirts or Sweatshirts
  • Mugs
  • Christmas Ornament
  • Locally Produced Foods
  • Locally-Made Craft Products
  • Creations by Local Artists
  • As always, I’d love to read your responses!

    High Plains Camping Gift Shop

    Gift Shop & Store (our Tradin' Post)

    Entry filed under: Asking the Customer (Camper / RVer). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

    RVing During Winter Storms 2009 … Fabulous!

    5 Comments Add your own

    • 1. Johnita  |  12/20/2009 at 4:11 pm

      I by shot glasses for suveniers because they don’t take much space and I’m always ready to fix a drink. I live in a small house and that’s th right size

      Reply
    • 2. Mike Erps  |  12/20/2009 at 4:25 pm

      When we first started full time RV’ing I thought I had to buy something from everyplace we went. I soon discovered that our 5th whhel trailer would only hold so much. So as a full timer we now buy very little. my favorite when we do purchase is t-shirts. next on my list would be coofee mugs. We do try the local fare where we go. I am looking forward to trying your coffee. My experience working in RV parks is vacationers are the ones who spend the most. They seem to like anything local. Hope this helps you some. It is always tough to out guess what will sell the best.

      Reply
    • 3. NomadWoman  |  12/20/2009 at 5:38 pm

      I like something that will eventually be consumed – locally produced food items mostly, followed by a T-shirt that will wear out eventually; and, a mug if it really catches my eye and I just can’t do without it! Oh, and I like to exchange books. I have several older friends who do not have computers, so I buy a postcard or two to send to them.

      It’s always nice to see a small supply of RV items or small sizes of some food items – crackers, soups, etc. for those emergencies. Thanks for asking Mary.

      Reply
    • 4. deborah  |  12/27/2009 at 5:05 pm

      On our big summer road trip (best friend and her girls), we collected key chains. I hung them off of a decorative chain in chronological order. I also collected all the Adirondacks’ pins, which I put on a ribbon and added to the chain with the key chains. My favorite? The rubber repair shop giveaway key chain from the shop that fixed my fuel pump in Afton, Wyoming. On a prior trip, I collected window stickers of the states.

      Usually, I’m not really a collector – when I buy “souvenirs” they’re usually something pretty and/or functional that reflect local flavor but don’t have place names stamped all over them.

      No RV for me – Tahoe and tent camping.

      Reply
    • 5. HighPlainsCamping  |  12/27/2009 at 5:48 pm

      Thanks, deborah. Thanks VERY much! 🙂

      And keep tenting. We saw far more tents this year than in other years and I’m glad to see it making such a come-back. It never went away … I just hadn’t seen it blossom quite like it did this year.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

    High Plains Camping Twitters

    • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 1 year ago
    • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 1 year ago
    • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
    • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
    • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
    • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
    • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

    Our Photos on Flickr


