What a November It’s Been!

11/22/2009 at 10:09 pm Leave a comment

Typically November is a quiet month at High Plains Camping. With all the seasonal employees gone it’s a time for the park’s owner (me) to recover from the summer’s craziness of owning an RV park. After that it’s time to prioritize improvement projects for the off-season, which leads to implementing changes for the next season.

This November, like many of the previous months, hasn’t been “typical.” Occupancy is running higher than normal. What a grand problem to have! Yes, “problem” because I had plans to attend some meetings & conventions but with higher occupancy I’d have to find additional helpers to cover the park’s duties in my absence. I must say, these have to be the dreamiest problems for a park owner! 🙂

With considerable rush it was the last second before I knew if I could leave for the National Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds (ARVC) annual convention and trade show. Actual driving time to Orlando was 28 hours, and I did it in 34 hours (very few breaks; very little sleep).

My goodness, am I ever grateful I was there! Aside from being reunited with some fantastic friends and attending some truly inspiring seminars, there were also 2 highly prestigious awards waiting for me and some wonderful new friendships waiting to be started.

One new friend wants to get into our industry by building a new RV park. It’s so exciting to help someone join our industry! Talking with him made me want to sell my park and help him start up his new business. Don’t worry … that’s definitely not in the plans. Still it’s exciting to know my passion is still lit like it was when I considered building a park.

Another individual I met has been loosely associated with an RV park all of his life but he just became one of the owners of it. WOW … this man is a real inspiration to me. I must say, when it comes to giving and sharing, I freely do so and I enjoy it, but it’s a welcomed event to have someone replenish my spirit after an exhausting summer! He may be classified as a “first timer” at the convention but it’s obvious to me he’s already a tremendous asset to the RV park sector.

My blogs are typically about the park itself. Rarely do I deviate and talk “admin” stuff. I thought maybe having been in the social network world for the:

• winter renovations (remember those shower stalls & the tile job?),
• spring build up to camping (hiring employees, replenishing inventory),
• full swing of summer (the guests, the weather, the activities),
• and onset of the empty-nester season (the guests, the childless activities),

it might be time to share that there is a lot going on behind the scenes that makes up the rest of this park owner’s life.

Not a day goes by that I don’t do something for the national and state associations, even if it’s merely reading what they’re up to (although that’s considered a light day).

Nor does a day end where there aren’t vendors who come into my train of thought.

Other park operators are frequently a part of my day, especially when helping the guest find a camp site on down the road for the next night

Yet most parts of most days it’s the guests who are the primary focus … even when I’m at the convention. As I walked around the expo I pondered new gadgets, gizmos and creative opportunities to see what would give my guests a new experience at High Plains Camping. It’s like sending a kid into a toy store!

Stay tuned to later blogs. Over time you’ll see what’s coming for 2010.

Entry filed under: Running an RV Park. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Angels Lend a Helping Hand High Plains Camping Is Honored By Our Guests

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

High Plains Camping Twitters

  • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 1 year ago
  • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 1 year ago
  • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
  • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
  • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
  • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
  • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

Our Photos on Flickr


