Park Operator … Another Side

09/19/2009 at 2:17 am 3 comments

I knew owning a park would be an enjoyable lifestyle, but I had no idea it would be this enjoyable! If you’re going to do it, do it ALL.

There are many facets in the life of an RV park owner and operator. I could list them for you but I fear seeing them all in one sentence.

Of course everyone knows the obvious duties: customer service, janitorial work and lawn care.

Then there are tasks one tends to not want to think about: bill payer, tax form processor, employer, sewer operator, and a whole lot more.

Based on my work habits and how I believe the park is to run and is to look, I manage to fill about 14 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s my life, so I don’t think of it as “work” … it’s just what I do.

Although I have kept up with those duties, my primary focus shifted recently … temporarily. Hours and hours and hours have been captured by association business. For me to have turned this park into the successful operation it is today, I couldn’t have done it had I not also done these “other” voluntary duties. Through these duties I’ve met fascinating and helpful other people: park owners, vendors, tourism representatives, legislators, and the nicest customers.

My RV park is affiated with many associations. From each of them I gain in professional development, my park gains exposure to customers, and the associations gain from my involvement.

The Kansas Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (KARVC) is for privately-owned parks. Together the park’s marketing dollars go much farther when pooled. Together the voices are stronger when lobbying on issues which impact small businesses, transportation, utilities, tourism, and many other areas of our life. Together the knowledge that’s shared lets the members learn from one another, help one another, and grow with one another.

The past week KARVC had its board meeting. I’m the treasurer so I created the reports and gave the details on our financial situation. We worked on our printed directory, the annual convention, some upcoming conferences, our web page, and still other business requiring our attention.

I also volunteer my services for the association’s consumer-oriented web page. I’m the one who writes the text, does the SEO, adds the images, maintains the details on each park, and so forth. Over the past month the web page has been thoroughly rewritten and redesigned. How many hours have I dedicated? It was a lot, but I don’t think in those terms. My goal is to give them as great a site as I can create in the time I can give to them. I’m excited to say the new site is due to go live on Monday.

I’m also the one who writes, invites articles, sells ads, formats, and distributes their quarterly newsletter, due out in September. Fortunately there are still some days left in this September!

As a business manager I know better than to schedule so many time-consuming responsibilities for the same month, but I’m not God so I don’t necessarily get my way.

So the past few weeks, while juggling my duties as the owner and operator of an RV park … over the tail end of summer and the ballistic days around Labor Day Weekend … I’ve also been tackling all these other duties.

For those who read my personal page on Facebook, perhaps now you see that all my recent posts which began with “Yipee” or “OMG” or “WOW” were indicative of my excitement over my successful juggling of all these rather significantly large tasks.

I accomplished them without dropping any of ’em, and certainly without breaking any of ’em. Now that’s something to “Yipee” about!

Entry filed under: Running an RV Park. Tags: , , , , .

September Guests What’s Your Camping Style?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thomas pritchett  |  09/21/2009 at 11:47 pm

    Mary I love what I am reading, you are doing a awesome job, but
    we knew you would exceed all challenges. We love you,
    keep us posted.

    Reply
  • 2. HighPlainsCamping  |  09/22/2009 at 12:02 am

    http://www.ksrvparks.com went live today!

    As is typical, there are some things we need to tweak (like some duplicate photographs), but we’re still working on it.

    Soon I’ll be adding even more features to make the consumers extra happy.

    The site is a work in progress … as is life itself!

    Reply
  • 3. Tnelson  |  10/01/2009 at 2:34 am

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

High Plains Camping Twitters

  • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 1 year ago
  • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 1 year ago
  • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
  • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
  • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
  • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
  • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

Our Photos on Flickr


