Park has its HOURS

08/16/2009 at 4:05 pm 1 comment

Having just posted my “Park Has Its Seasons” blog, I realize another fact should be mentioned. HOURS.

If you drive by High Plains Camping at 11 a.m. or 2 p.m. virtually any day of the year, you will wonder how the business can stay open. Or you will wonder if it IS open for business! So I’ll explain it a bit.

We’re an overnight facility. Many people tell me we are becoming a destination park because of our service & amenities, but nearly every day of the year the park nearly empties out by mid-morning. That’s a fact.

Someone has to be the first one in, and invariably they ask if we’re open for business. It doesn’t matter if it’s January or the 4th of July … the park looks to be empty or closed.

What most don’t realize is that we are holding spots for our reserved guests, and most of our guests call on the day of arrival rather than book months or weeks ahead of time, so from 10 a.m. until 8 p.m. our phone is jingling and our site map is filling up.

I’ve grown acclimated to the guests who snub me (sometimes “snub” is putting it somewhat mildly) because the park is empty in June, July, and August when most parks are filled with RVs. Typically, those same people return to the office later in the evening in amazement at how nicely we filled up. They simply don’t understand my business and that’s OK … as long my guests enjoy their stay, and I understand my business, and God continues to bless me, that’s all that matters to me.

Since I can now talk to people through my blog, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to share this story to enlighten those who read it.

Entry filed under: Running an RV Park. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Park has its “SEASONS” Guests Inspire Organic Garden Farmer

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. MM  |  08/16/2009 at 9:39 pm

    When you’re have to turn away customers because you ran out of room, you’re must enjoy the peace & quiet that comes with an empty park in the middle of the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

High Plains Camping Twitters

  • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 1 year ago
  • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 1 year ago
  • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
  • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
  • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
  • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
  • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

Our Photos on Flickr


