Life as an RV Park Owner is NOT Boring!

04/10/2009 at 10:20 pm 1 comment

I believe you should find passion in what you do. As an RV park owner, I not only love to operate this RV park, but I love to network with others the industry:

  • I care about the struggles of the dealerships and I want to see their inventory sell again;
  • I delight in networking with other park owners;
  • I enjoy meeting vendors who offer products and services to make the RV parks better or ones to ease the life of the owner;
  • And I love to visit with my RVers.

Therefore, I get very involved. Across this huge nation I have many friends in all walks of the RV livelihood.

It’s because of this networking and my reputation within the industry that many potential future park owners  are sent to me to talk about the lifestyle before they commit to the purchase. Usually I can find time to visit with them at great length, and often times they soon become colleagues of mine. Now that’s really rewarding!

So I often hear “it must be really boring in the winter.” HA! I’m preparing to enter my 8th summer as a park owner, and so far I’m not aware of a single hour where I’ve said, “Gee, I’m bored.” Here’s a taste of April.

April is not a busy camping month at this facility (although it’s not as slow as January), but it’s definitely a very busy time for me. This is when:

  • I start coming out of my semi-hibernation-speed;
  • My To Do list never shrinks even as I accomplish tasks because new projects get added faster than the accomplishments can be marked off;
  • And weeds start growing, but snow can still cover them up.

There are the typical projects of inspecting all the structures and adding the necessary repairs to the list. It’s still too cold to pull out the paint brushes, but the list grows.

Easter vacation is a time I interview the college-age people who might want to come to work here this summer. The applicants must have many skills, with one of the highest being their ability to treat the guests with utmost respect. I always handle the employment process very carefully because I can’t afford to hire a wrong person.

April is also when we begin placing countless orders:

  • Inventory for the store
  • Supplies for the projects
  • Chemicals for the hot tubs
  • Cleaning supplies
  • And many more things 

“Spend Spend Spend” seems to be the theme for the month! In turn, it also brings the UPS and Fed Ex trucks up the driveway far more frequently than any other time of year.

April is also when the phone awakens. During the winter we sometimes pick up the receiver just to make sure we still have phone service, but in April we barely set the phone down before it rings again.

The faster pace of life and the endless list of duties often sounds exhausting to those who don’t own RV parks, but ask any park owners … this is the pace and these are the sounds of life, and we love them!

Entry filed under: Running an RV Park. Tags: , , , , , .

Pets are WELCOME … but with what limits? Women’s Shower Area Renovations

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Driveway Pavers  |  04/11/2009 at 1:24 pm

    Excellent post. I believe no matter what we do we should have a passion for it and love to be involved as much as possible. Also by networking with others and helping the industry as a whole we are in the end helping ourselves. Great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

High Plains Camping Twitters

  • @zeus1tre I have followed you and you need to follow us also to DM each other 2 years ago
  • @zeus1tre If you are the CEO of S & T Communications I need you contact me in reference to a certified letter we received from you today 2 years ago
  • At the KOA Salina for the annual meeting for KARVC. Meeting new people that own campgrounds in Kansas also. 4 years ago
  • The High Plains Camping Buffalo doesn't mind the snow. http://t.co/ZlUygEAmLr 4 years ago
  • Picked up the pizza equipment and heading back home. By mid-spring we'll have Hunt Brothers pizza at the park. 4 years ago
  • Heading to fort Scott today to look at pizza equipment for the store. Long trip 4 years ago
  • New year has begun! Looking a bit warmer weather so we can finish putting in the pub. Have a new worker camper couple coming in March. 4 years ago

Our Photos on Flickr


